Two generic aquarium light bars above a planted freshwater aquarium.

Pawfly vs SEAOURA: Aquarium Lights compared

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

An aquarium light is chosen first by tank length, because a bracket that is too short leaves the tank dark at one end. This comparison sets two Pawfly lights and a SEAOURA light against each other, using the length ranges, light modes and power figures each listing states.

The two research listings were checked on 2026-10-12. The Pawfly 5 watt light from the store listings carries no check date in this listing set, so its figures are reported as listed.

Quick answer

Match the light to the tank length first. The Pawfly 11 watt listing gives an extendable bracket for tanks of 12 to 18 inches, with a maximum reach of 20 inches. The SEAOURA listing is sized for 18 to 24 inch tanks. The Pawfly 5 watt listing is the smallest of the three and is titled for an 8 inch tank. For a 22 inch tank, only the SEAOURA range covers the length.

Side-by-side listing data

Feature Pawfly 11W SEAOURA 18 to 24 inch Pawfly 5W (store)
Tank length 12 to 18 inches, bracket up to 20 inches 18 to 24 inches 8 inches in title
Power 11 watts in title, 9 watts in specs 14 watts 5 watts
Light color 6500K white, 450 nm blue, 660 nm red 6500K white, red, pink, green and blue 6500K white, blue, green and red
Modes Daytime and night, 6 levels Timer 6, 10 or 12 hours, 10 brightness levels Natural 24/7 mode and day and night timing
Color rendering CRI 90 Up to 89 CRI 98
Weight 13.76 ounces 1.4 pounds Not stated

Pawfly 11W LED light for 12 to 18 inch tanks

The Pawfly 11 watt listing describes a full spectrum light with white, blue and red output. The bullets give a PAR of 55 and a LUX of 2500, with a color rendering index of 90. The listing has two modes, a daytime mode with all lights on and a night mode with only blue on, switched with the M button.

The bracket is extendable, and the bullets give a minimum length of 11.5 inches and a maximum of 20 inches. The aluminum shell is described as helping heat dissipation, and the adapter is ETL certified. The specs list 9 watts of wattage in one field and 11 watts as the light source wattage, so the power figure differs by field.

View Pawfly 11W on Amazon

SEAOURA LED light for 18 to 24 inch tanks

The SEAOURA listing is sized for an 18 to 24 inch tank, with an extendable metal bracket. The bullets describe a timer with 6, 10 or 12 hour settings, 10 brightness levels and three color modes: all lights on, white, red, green and pink, or blue only. The bullets say the light rises slowly over the first 15 minutes and fades over the last 15.

The listing says the light keeps its settings after a power failure, and it gives a color rendering index of up to 89 with 6500K white light. The specs are inconsistent on the power type, listing corded electric, a 20 volt direct current voltage and a USB connectivity line, so the power source should be confirmed on the product page. The listing is marked indoor use only and not water resistant.

View SEAOURA on Amazon

Pawfly 5W LED light (store)

The Pawfly 5 watt store listing is titled for an 8 inch tank and describes a 24/7 natural mode that turns on at 6 a.m. and off at 10 p.m. The bullets say the day can be set to 6, 8 or 10 hours and the night to 2, 3 or 4 hours, with 10 brightness levels.

The bullets give a color rendering index of 98 and a 450 to 495 nanometer blue range. The specs list a length of 9.44 inches with a width of 2.75 inches, which does not match an 8 inch title. The base is listed as GU10 while the bulb shape is A19, so the fitting should be checked on the product page.

View Pawfly 5W on Amazon

How we chose these listings

The two Pawfly and SEAOURA listings are the research products named in the keyword. The Pawfly 5 watt light from the store listings matches the same product type, an aquarium LED light, so it was added. A Pawfly air pump from the same store listings was left out, because it is an air pump rather than a light.

Worked example: a 22 inch tank and a 15 inch tank

Take a 22 inch tank first. The Pawfly 11W listing says it works best on 12 to 18 inch tanks, and its bracket extends to 20 inches, so a 22 inch tank sits outside its stated range. The SEAOURA range of 18 to 24 inches covers 22 inches, with 2 inches to spare below the top of that range.

Now take a 15 inch tank. The Pawfly 11W range of 12 to 18 inches covers 15 inches, while the SEAOURA range starts at 18 inches, so its stated range does not cover that tank. The length check alone decides the pick in both cases.

What the listings do not say

None of the three listings gives a measured light output at the tank floor, and the PAR and LUX values for the Pawfly 11W are manufacturer figures. The SEAOURA listing does not give a PAR or LUX value. The SEAOURA bullets say the full spectrum helps fish and plant growth, and the Pawfly listings describe fish and plant benefits in general terms. No listing gives a plant growth test.

The Pawfly 5W listing does not state a warranty beyond one year, and the SEAOURA listing gives a one month free return instead.

Frequently asked questions

Which light fits a 22 inch aquarium?

The SEAOURA listing covers 18 to 24 inches, so it fits a 22 inch tank. The Pawfly 11W listing says it works best on 12 to 18 inch tanks, so 22 inches is outside its stated range.

Which light fits a 15 inch aquarium?

The Pawfly 11W listing covers 12 to 18 inches, so it fits a 15 inch tank. The SEAOURA range starts at 18 inches.

How many brightness levels do the lights offer?

The Pawfly 11W bullets list six intensity levels, and the SEAOURA and Pawfly 5W bullets each list 10 brightness levels.

Are these lights water resistant?

The SEAOURA specs say not water resistant, and its listing is indoor use only. The Pawfly 11W bullets describe a silicone sealed board, but the listing does not state a water rating.

Conclusion

For a tank of 12 to 18 inches, the Pawfly 11 watt listing gives the stated fit and a two-mode control. For 18 to 24 inches, the SEAOURA listing matches the length with a timer and 10 brightness levels. The Pawfly 5 watt store light suits a small tank, but its own length figures disagree. Measure the tank before you choose, then check the power figures on the live page.

For more on sizing a light, see the comparison of aquarium lights, the review of a National Geographic aquarium light and the guide to a Bluetooth aquarium light.

Similar Posts