Pawfly pawfly aquarium 15 40 gph compact air pump quiet oxygen aera review

Aquarium Air Pumps: 6 Listings Compared by GPH and Tank Size

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

A search for Pawfly air pumps brings up one Pawfly listing in the research set for this page, so the title uses the product type instead. Six listings in the set are aquarium air pumps, and the other six products are tanks and kits. Every pump states a tank range, and most state a flow rate in gallons per hour (GPH). Some flow figures disagree with the bullets or are given in units that do not match, so this page shows each figure as the listing gives it, converts it where that helps, and names the conflicts. Checked on 12 October 2026.

Quick answer

Match the stated tank range first, then the flow. The ranges run from 3 to 20 gallons for the Pawfly pump up to 200 gallons for the HITOP, AQUANEAT and Uniclife titles. For tanks up to 80 gallons, the AQQA pump states 100 GPH with a 35 dB maximum noise figure. The HITOP and AQUANEAT flow figures agree with their titles when converted. The Pawfly pump has the smallest body in the set, but its own flow figures disagree. The Tetra Whisper pump is the only listing that says non-UL.

The six pumps at a glance

Pump ASIN Stated tank range Flow (as listed) Outlets and stones Noise (as listed)
Pawfly 15-40 GPH compact B073DWVX5P 3 to 20 gal (title), 5 to 20 gal (bullet) 0.67 gpm field, 30 GPH bullet One air stone ball Under 45 dB
AQQA 3W dual outlet B0CG5PRMSD Up to 80 gal 1.67 gpm field, 100 GPH bullet Two outlets, two stones Max 35 dB
Uniclife dual outlet B01EBXI7PG 5 to 200 gal (title), 10 to 100 gal (bullet) 64 GPH bullet, 64 gpm field Two outlets, two stones 25 dB low, 45 dB high
Tetra Whisper, non-UL B000A0PYQK Up to 100 gal 100 gpm field, no GPH in bullets Single or dual outlet by size, no stones listed Not stated
HITOP 4W 110 GPH B08HMZSH9J 20 to 200 gal 110 GPH title, 7 L/min field Two outlets, two stones Under 35 dB
AQUANEAT 300 GPH B0BHVXC4DJ Up to 200 gal 300 GPH title, 5 gpm field Four outlets, four stones Not stated

1. Pawfly Aquarium 15-40 GPH Compact Air Pump

The Pawfly pump is the smallest body in the set, at 3.3 inches long, 1.8 inches wide and 1.6 inches high, and it weighs 9.52 ounces. Its specification field lists corded electric power, a maximum pressure of 12,000 pascal and a 5-foot hose. The same field also says “A batteries required”, which does not fit a corded pump, so check the power source on the live page. The bullets give a maximum airflow of 30 GPH, a pressure of 0.012 MPa and a power draw of 2 W. The airflow field reads 0.67 gpm, which is about 40 GPH, so the two flow figures differ by about 10 GPH. The kit includes one air stone ball, 5 feet of 3/16-inch tubing and a check valve. The bullets give a noise figure of under 45 dB.

Check the Pawfly pump on Amazon

2. AQQA Aquarium Air Pump, 3W Dual Outlet

The AQQA pump has a stainless steel outlet body, two outlets and a knob on top for adjusting the airflow without unplugging it. Its airflow field reads 1.67 gpm, which is about 100 GPH, and a bullet gives a maximum air volume of 100 GPH. The stated tank range is up to 80 gallons. The pressure is listed as 2.61 psi in the field and as 18 kPa in a bullet, and those two figures agree. The bullets give a maximum noise of 35 dB and say four soft rubber pads reduce vibration. The package includes two air stones, two 4.92-foot tubes and two check valves. The listing gives a one-year after-sale service period, and the package weight is 1.74 pounds.

Check the AQQA pump on Amazon

3. Uniclife Aquarium Air Pump, Dual Outlet

The Uniclife pump is a dual-outlet unit with a rotary knob that adjusts the air for both outlets. The product measures 5.1 inches long, 2.8 inches wide and 2.5 inches high. Its title gives a tank range of 5 to 200 gallons, but its bullet gives 10 to 100 gallons for fresh and marine aquariums, so the two ranges disagree. The bullet gives a maximum airflow of 64 GPH, and the specification field reads 64 gpm. Read literally, the field would be about 3,840 GPH, so the bullet is the more likely figure, but the listing does not explain the unit. The bullets give a noise figure of 25 dB on low and 45 dB at the highest flow. Its power is 4 W, and the hose is 6.5 feet. The kit includes two air stones, two check valves and two connectors.

Check the Uniclife pump on Amazon

4. Tetra Whisper Air Pump for Aquariums, Non-UL

The Tetra Whisper pump is the only listing in the set that says non-UL. It is a plastic blue pump that weighs 0.91 kg, and its listed tank range is up to 100 gallons. The specification field gives an airflow of 100 gpm, which looks like a unit error for a pump this size, though the listing does not say so. The bullets give no GPH figure at all. The bullets say the pump has a suspended motor and a patented dome shape for quiet running, but they give no decibel figure. Sizes are listed as 10, 20 and 40 gallons with a single outlet, and 60 and 100 gallons with dual outlets. The component field says the pump is for 60 to 100 gallons, which does not match the wider size list in the bullets. The kit includes the pump only, with no air stones or tubing listed.

Check the Tetra Whisper pump on Amazon

5. HITOP 4W 110 GPH Aquarium Air Pump

The HITOP pump is shaped like a shark and has two outlets, a 4W motor and an on/off button. The title and bullets give 110 GPH, and the airflow field gives 7 liters per minute. Seven liters per minute is about 111 GPH, so the two figures agree. The tank range is 20 to 200 gallons. The bullets say the pump is quieter than 35 dB, and the power is 4 W. The specification fields also give a 6-watt horsepower figure, which does not match the 4 W in the bullets. The hose length field says 10 feet, but the included tubing is listed as two 5-foot tubes. The kit includes two air stones, two check valves, two suction cups, a T-connector, a regulating valve and a filter pad, and the listing gives a two-year warranty.

Check the HITOP pump on Amazon

6. AQUANEAT Aquarium Air Pump 300 GPH

The AQUANEAT pump is the largest of the six by number of outlets, with four, and it is sold for aquariums, aquaponic and hydroponic systems, and small ponds. Its airflow field reads 5 gpm, which is 300 GPH, matching the title. The tank range is up to 200 gallons. The pump has a control knob for airflow and four rubber stabilizer feet. The maximum pressure field reads 0.01 pascal, which is not a usable figure without more context. The specification field gives 8.5 watts, while the listing record also carries a separate 5-watt mention that the bullets do not repeat. The package includes four air stones, four check valves, four suction cups, four control valves, four T-connectors and 16 feet of tubing. The listing gives no noise figure and no warranty term.

Check the AQUANEAT pump on Amazon

How we chose these six

We kept every air pump in the research set and left out the aquarium tanks and kits. The keyword named one brand, so we did not add any pump from outside the research data. For each pump we read the tank range, the flow figure, the outlet count, the noise figure and the components list. Where a title, a bullet and a field disagree, we show all of them.

  • Tank range: the title range and the bullet range, shown separately when they differ.
  • Flow: the GPH figure in the title or bullets, and the flow field with its unit as printed.
  • Outlets and parts: the outlet count and the stones, tubing and valves in the components list.
  • Noise: the decibel figure, if the listing gives one, and the condition it applies to.

Worked example: converting the flow fields to GPH

Converting each flow field to gallons per hour shows where the listings agree. Multiply gallons per minute by 60 to get GPH. The Pawfly field reads 0.67 gpm, which is 40.2 GPH, against a bullet figure of 30 GPH, a gap of 10.2 GPH. The AQQA field reads 1.67 gpm, which is 100.2 GPH, against a bullet of 100 GPH. The AQUANEAT field reads 5 gpm, which is 300 GPH, against a title of 300 GPH. The HITOP field reads 7 liters per minute, and one US gallon is 3.785 liters, so 7 liters per minute is 420 liters per hour, or about 111 GPH, against a title of 110 GPH. The Uniclife field reads 64 gpm, which would be 3,840 GPH, against a bullet of 64 GPH. The Tetra field reads 100 gpm with no GPH bullet. The three listings that agree (AQQA, HITOP and AQUANEAT) show the figures are usable. The Pawfly and Uniclife figures need checking before you size a pump, and the Tetra listing has no GPH figure to convert.

What the listings do not say

The listings do not show flow or noise measurements taken with a stated method. The Uniclife bullets say their figures were measured with experimental equipment and may deviate, but they do not name the equipment. None of the listings gives a flow curve against head height, which affects how much air reaches a deep tank. Several power figures disagree inside the same listing. The Pawfly listing gives corded power and also a battery note, and the HITOP and AQUANEAT specification fields give wattages that do not match their own text.

What we could not verify

We could not verify the noise figures, the pressure ratings, the flow figures in the bullets, the warranty terms, or the claim that the HITOP pump is quieter than 35 dB. We could not check what non-UL means for the Tetra pump in your setup, and the listing does not explain it. The checked date for every listing in this group is 12 October 2026, and the live pages may show different figures after that date.

Frequently asked questions

How much GPH does my tank need?

The listings do not give a sizing rule. They state tank ranges instead: the Pawfly pump up to 20 gallons, the AQQA pump up to 80 gallons, the HITOP pump 20 to 200 gallons, and the AQUANEAT pump up to 200 gallons. Choose a pump whose stated range covers your tank, then check the flow figure against the range.

Which of these pumps are quiet?

The AQQA listing gives a maximum of 35 dB, and the HITOP listing says it is quieter than 35 dB. The Pawfly listing gives under 45 dB, and the Uniclife listing gives 25 dB on low and 45 dB at its highest setting. The Tetra and AQUANEAT listings give no decibel figure in the data we have.

Is the Tetra air pump UL listed?

No. The title and bullets say it is non-UL listed. The listing does not explain what that means for your use, so check the product details before you buy it.

Do these pumps come with air stones?

Most do. The Pawfly pump includes one air stone ball, the AQQA, Uniclife and HITOP pumps include two, and the AQUANEAT pump includes four. The Tetra listing includes the pump only.

Can one pump run more than one tank?

Dual and four-outlet listings say so. The AQQA and Uniclife pumps have two outlets, the HITOP pump has two outlets, and the AQUANEAT pump has four outlets and is described for several aquariums. The Tetra pump has dual outlets in its 60 and 100-gallon sizes.

Conclusion

Choose the pump by the tank range it states, then check the flow figure and the noise figure. The AQQA and HITOP listings give the clearest combination of range, flow and noise, and the AQUANEAT listing gives the most outlets. Where a listing gives two flow figures or two tank ranges, check both on the live page before you buy. For more on pump noise and size, see our quiet fish tank air pump guide, the battery-operated air pump page and the air pump troubleshooting guide.

Pawfly · AQQA · Uniclife · Tetra Whisper · HITOP · AQUANEAT

Similar Posts