Best freshwater led grow lights

Best Freshwater LED Grow Lights for Aquarium Plants: Five Listed Options Compared

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

If you want the best freshwater LED grow lights for an aquarium with live plants, decide tank length first, then mounting, then the control you will actually use. This guide compares five aquarium lights from the catalog file and lists the seven items we left out, with reasons. Each light is judged by its own listing: the fit, the timer or remote, the LED count and the water rating. The listings use grow and plant language, but none gives a plant result, a PAR figure or a light output number for plants. Treat those words as product copy until a measured figure appears.

Quick answer

  • Pick by length first. Two lights fit 12 to 18 inches, two fit 18 to 24 inches, and the iKefe is a 7.5 inch light for tanks of 1 to 10 gallons.
  • Four of the five name timer steps of 4, 6, 8, 10 and 12 hours. Those steps come to 28, 42, 56, 70 and 84 hours a week.
  • All five list an IP68 rating, and the listings describe it as full submersion. Compare that wording with the listing before you buy.
  • No listing gives a light output figure for plants, so the grow claims cannot be checked from the listings alone.

What a grow claim can and cannot show

Every grow-related listing here uses plant words such as “full spectrum,” “plant growth” or “grow.” The UF/IFAS production guide we opened says “Algae reduces plant growth by blocking available light for photosynthesis and by absorbing available nutrients.” That sentence describes what algae does to plants, not what a light does, but it explains why light is only part of a planted tank’s balance.

The UF/IFAS balance guide (FR398) puts the same idea in one line: “It is all about the balance between algae, plants, and bacteria.” The same page sets the goal as “Your goal is to minimize algae, so you want to maximize plants.” A grow claim in a listing describes how the product is designed. A measured output at the plants would show what the plants receive, and none of these five listings gives one.

The 4-H marine guide defines photoperiod as “The amount of time each day that the aquarium lights are turned on.” That is the figure a timer or a 24/7 cycle should be read against, and the default cycles in these listings do not give it. For spectrum choices in more depth, see our light spectrum guide for aquarium plants.

Fit, mounting and the outlet

Fit is the first filter. The NEOAQLUX and SEVENCONST 12 to 18 inch lights are listed for tanks in that range, and the NEOAQLUX and SEVENCONST 18 to 24 inch lights for the larger range. The iKefe is a 7.5 inch light, which its bullets describe as suitable for 1 to 10 gallon tanks. Measure the glass length, because a bracket span is not the same as the tank length.

Mounting is where the four 12 to 24 inch lights disagree. All four name extendable brackets in their titles. The NEOAQLUX specifications say Bracket Mount, but the SEVENCONST specifications say Floor Mount for the 12 to 18 inch model and Tabletop for the 18 to 24 inch model. The iKefe uses suction cups, as its specifications state. A floor mount and a tabletop mount sit on a stand in different ways, so settle that before you order.

Power comes last. The 4-H marine guide says “You will need to have access to a power outlet, and the aquarium should not be placed near a window or directly in the path of a heater or air-conditioning vent.” It also says “A power source is required for aquarium lights.” Each NEOAQLUX and SEVENCONST listing includes a power adapter, and its bullets describe that adapter as ETL certified. The CPSC guidance is written for pools and spas and is applied here as general caution. It says “Keep electrical cords, wires, and products out of reach and at least 5 feet from the water.” It also says “If an electrical product falls into the water, unplug it before touching it.” Plan the cord route and the adapter position before the light goes near water.

Timer steps and weekly hours

Four of the five lights name hour steps. Those are the two NEOAQLUX and two SEVENCONST listings, and each gives a timer of 4, 6, 8, 10 or 12 hours. The weekly total is the daily step times 7.

Daily timer step named in the listing Hours a week Listings that name the step
4 hours 28 NEOAQLUX 12 to 18, NEOAQLUX 18 to 24, SEVENCONST 12 to 18, SEVENCONST 18 to 24
6 hours 42 the same four listings
8 hours 56 the same four listings
10 hours 70 the same four listings
12 hours 84 the same four listings

The formula is daily hours times 7. For the 4 hour step, 4 times 7 is 28. For the 12 hour step, 12 times 7 is 84. The 10 hour step gives 70 hours a week.

The iKefe listing has the word timer in its title but gives no hour steps, so it is not in the table. The four 24/7 lights also run a default cycle that their bullets describe as running “24 hours a day, 7 days a week.” Neither listing gives a count of bright hours inside that cycle, so the default cannot be turned into a weekly total.

LEDs per watt: a density check

The table counts LEDs against the listed wattage. It is arithmetic on the listing’s own numbers, and it does not measure light.

Listing Fit range Listed watts Listed LEDs LEDs per listed watt
NEOAQLUX 12 to 18 inch 12 to 18 inches 12 60 5.0
SEVENCONST 12 to 18 inch 12 to 18 inches 15 60 4.0
NEOAQLUX 18 to 24 inch 18 to 24 inches 16 85 5.3
SEVENCONST 18 to 24 inch 18 to 24 inches 16 85 5.3

LEDs per listed watt is the listed LED count divided by the listed watts. For example, 60 divided by 12 is 5.0, 60 divided by 15 is 4.0, and 85 divided by 16 is 5.3. The iKefe is not in this table, because its specifications give 12 watts for the light source and 3 watts for wattage.

Matched pairs: what changes between sizes

The two NEOAQLUX lights and the two SEVENCONST lights come in matched sizes, and their bullets read almost the same. The table sets the four listings side by side, using only the figures each one states.

Feature NEOAQLUX 12 to 18 inch NEOAQLUX 18 to 24 inch SEVENCONST 12 to 18 inch SEVENCONST 18 to 24 inch
Fit named in the title 12 to 18 inches 18 to 24 inches 12 to 18 inches 18 to 24 inches
LEDs listed 60 85 60 85
Wattage listed 12 W 16 W 15 W 16 W
Timer steps 4, 6, 8, 10, 12 hours 4, 6, 8, 10, 12 hours 4, 6, 8, 10, 12 hours 4, 6, 8, 10, 12 hours
Brightness levels 9 9 9 9
Remote or touch switch not stated not stated remote remote and touch
Mounting type Bracket Mount Bracket Mount Floor Mount Tabletop
Model number ASKXW ASKXW CR2025 XWPL
Indoor or outdoor use not stated not stated Indoor Indoor, Outdoor
Warranty 1 year 1 year 1 year 1 year

Within each size, the two brands state the same timer steps, the same brightness levels, the same IP68 wording and the same one year warranty. What differs is the switch, the mount and the model number. The 12 to 18 inch SEVENCONST has a remote and lists a floor mount, while the 18 to 24 inch SEVENCONST adds touch and lists a tabletop mount. The two NEOAQLUX lights share one model number and one bracket mount. Ask the seller to confirm the model before you buy, because the model fields differ even inside one brand.

Choosing by the change you need

  • For a fixed daily run length, choose the size first, then one of the timer steps that the NEOAQLUX or SEVENCONST listing names, from 4 to 12 hours.
  • To change settings from across the room, the two SEVENCONST listings name a remote, and the 18 to 24 inch model also names touch. The NEOAQLUX listings name no remote in their titles, bullets or specifications.
  • For a tank of 10 gallons or less with color and effect settings, the iKefe is the smallest light here, and its bullets list 16 colors and four transition effects.
  • For a weekly total, use a listed timer step and the daily hours times 7 formula. The iKefe and the default cycles do not give a count you can use.

The power adapter and the lamp body

Each NEOAQLUX and SEVENCONST listing counts the power adapter as a separate included item. The NEOAQLUX listings name a lamp body, two brackets, a power adapter and a user manual, and the 12 to 18 inch SEVENCONST adds a remote controller to that set. Keep the adapter and any plug out of the water and away from splashes, following the CPSC caution above. For a wider look at strip lights rated for water, see our waterproof LED strip lights guide.

The five picks

Each card gives the listing’s own figures, the pros and cons the listing supports, and a skip-if line. The cards run from the smallest fit to the largest, and none is ranked above another.

1. 7.5″ Timer Color Changing LED Fish Tank Aquarium Submersible Light with Remote/Colored Aquarium LED (Small 1 to 10 gallon submersible light with color effects)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Light Source Wattage: 12 watts
  • Wattage: 3 watts
  • Color Rendering Index: 90
  • Mounting Type: Suction Cup Mount

Pros

  • IP68 listed, with suction cup mounts for glass or a hood
  • Color rendering index of 90 in the specifications, and a remote that keeps its settings in memory
  • The bullets describe 12V low voltage and say it is safe for people or fish

Cons

  • The specifications give 12 W for the light source and 3 W for wattage, so the power figure is unclear
  • The listing gives no hour steps and no lumen figure, so its controls are colors and effects

Best for: A 1 to 10 gallon tank that needs a small submersible light with color and effect settings.
Skip if: You need a timer with hour steps, or your tank is larger than 10 gallons.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. 24/7 LED Aquarium Light for 12-18 Inch Plant & Fish Tank, 12-Color & Gradient & Full Spectrum (Submersible 12 to 18 inch light with five timer steps)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Mounting Type: Bracket Mount
  • Wattage: 12 watts
  • Item Dimensions L x W x H: 10.2″L x 3.6″W x 0.4″H
  • Manufacturer Warranty Description: 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • IP68 listed for full submersion, with an ETL certified adapter
  • Five timer steps of 4, 6, 8, 10 and 12 hours, and nine brightness levels
  • Memory restores the last setting after power on, as the bullets state

Cons

  • No lumen or PAR figure is stated for plant light
  • The 24/7 cycle gives no count of bright hours

Best for: A 12 to 18 inch freshwater tank that needs a submersible light with a fixed daily timer.
Skip if: Your tank is outside 12 to 18 inches, or you need a light output figure before you buy.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. 24/7 LED Aquarium Light with Remote for 12-18 Inch Plant & Fish Tank IP68, 12-Color & Gradient (Remote-controlled 12 to 18 inch light)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Switch Type: Remote
  • Wattage: 15 watts
  • Mounting Type: Floor Mount
  • Model Number: CR2025

Pros

  • The remote is listed to work from up to 25 meters away
  • Five timer steps and nine brightness levels with memory, in the bullets

Cons

  • The specifications say Floor Mount, while the bullets describe extendable brackets
  • The model number field reads CR2025, which does not match the model number of the 18 to 24 inch SEVENCONST light

Best for: A 12 to 18 inch tank where the buyer wants to change settings from across the room.
Skip if: Your tank is outside 12 to 18 inches, or a floor mount does not suit your setup.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. 24/7 LED Aquarium Light for 18-24 Inch Plant & Fish Tank, 12-Color & Gradient & Full Spectrum (Larger 18 to 24 inch light with 85 LEDs)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Mounting Type: Bracket Mount
  • Wattage: 16 watts
  • Item Dimensions L x W x H: 15.7″L x 3.6″W x 0.4″H
  • Manufacturer Warranty Description: 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • Lists 85 LEDs and 16 W, the larger LED count of the two NEOAQLUX lights
  • The same IP68 full submersion rating and five timer steps as the 12 to 18 inch model
  • Extendable brackets for an 18 to 24 inch tank length, as the title states

Cons

  • The light body is listed at 15.7 inches, so the brackets carry most of the fit
  • Its only spectrum detail is the words Full Spectrum, with no color figure

Best for: An 18 to 24 inch tank where a submersible light with a timer matters more than a light output figure.
Skip if: Your tank is under 18 inches or over 24 inches, or you need a color rendering figure before you buy.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

5. 24/7 Mode LED Aquarium Light for 18-24 Inch Plant & Fish Tank, IP68 Full Spectrum Light (18 to 24 inch light with touch and remote switching)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Switch Type: Remote, Touch
  • Wattage: 16 watts
  • Mounting Type: Tabletop
  • Indoor Outdoor Usage: Indoor, Outdoor

Pros

  • The switch type is listed as remote and touch, so the light can be adjusted by hand or from a distance
  • Lists 85 LEDs and 16 W, the same counts as the 18 to 24 inch NEOAQLUX light
  • IP68 listed for full submersion, with five timer steps

Cons

  • The specifications say Tabletop mounting, while the title describes extendable brackets
  • The title names pink LEDs, but the bullets list 12 color options without naming pink

Best for: An 18 to 24 inch tank where a touch switch on the light is useful for quick changes.
Skip if: Your tank is under 18 inches, or you need the bracket type confirmed before you mount the light.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

Listings without a card

Seven of the twelve listed items did not get a card. Each reason comes from that item’s own listing.

  • The ShineCai 18 W light is a reef and marine light. Its title and recommended-use field name coral, reef and marine algae, and its bullets mention saltwater fish beside freshwater, so it is a saltwater product in a freshwater set.
  • The ACKE 12 W light is a plant lamp. Its title names indoor plants and hydroponics, its mounting type is Wall Mount, and its bullets point to a US plug, so it is not an aquarium light.
  • The CFGROW 100 W light is a ceiling-mount plant grow light for indoor or outdoor use. Its listing gives 14,600 lumens and never mentions a tank, so it is an unrelated lamp for this set.
  • The HIGROW 18 W blue bulb is a socket bulb with an E26 base, listed as a garden item. Its title says 18W, but its specifications list 36 watts, and it has no tank mount.
  • The Jowxsx blue light lists decoration as its recommended use. Its bullets say it promotes healthy growth of freshwater aquatic plants, but no figure follows, and several fields hold single entries such as model 1 and item type No. No tank size is given.
  • The IRQWY 5 to 10 gallon and IRQWY 10 to 20 gallon lights are freshwater aquarium lights. We used them in the planted-tank post, so this post does not repeat their cards.

How we chose

We began with the twelve listed items in the catalog file and used only their titles, bullets and specifications. Prices and ratings are not used anywhere in this article. A listing had to pass four checks before it received a card:

  • It is a light for a freshwater aquarium, with a tank mount, a bracket or a suction cup, and not a plant lamp for a shelf or a ceiling.
  • It states a fit, either a tank length range or a tank size.
  • It states a control, such as timer steps, a remote, a touch switch or a color and brightness setting.
  • If it says the light goes under water, it states a water rating, and any conflict in the listing is named on the card.

Five listings passed. Each card’s skip-if line comes from the listing’s own fit or control text.

What we could not verify

  • Plant growth. None of the five listings gives a plant result, and the UF/IFAS pages we opened do not compare lights for plants.
  • Light output. None of the five states lumens or PAR. The only lumen figures in the wider set belong to hygger lights in the planted-tank post.
  • Spectrum. The NEOAQLUX and SEVENCONST listings say full spectrum and list 12 colors with a gradient mode, but they give no spectrum curve or color rendering figure. The iKefe specifications give a color rendering index of 90 and nothing else on spectrum.
  • Bright hours. The 24/7 cycle on the NEOAQLUX and SEVENCONST listings runs 24 hours a day, but no listing states the bright-hour count inside it.
  • Conflicts. The SEVENCONST 12 to 18 inch model number field reads CR2025, which does not match the model number of the SEVENCONST 18 to 24 inch light. The SEVENCONST 18 to 24 inch title says pink LEDs, while its bullets describe 12 color options without naming pink. The iKefe specifications give 12 W for the light source and 3 W for wattage.
  • Remote range. The SEVENCONST 12 to 18 inch listing says the remote works from up to 25 meters, but it does not say whether that range holds through glass or water.
  • Warranty. The NEOAQLUX and SEVENCONST listings state a one year warranty. The iKefe bullets promise a free replacement within one year for a quality problem. We did not check any term with a seller.
  • Product pages. We did not open any product page, so no claim about assembly, noise or durability is made here.

FAQ

Are these real grow lights, or aquarium lights with grow wording?

They are aquarium lights with grow wording. The listings use plant words, but none gives a plant result or a measured output for plants, so the grow wording cannot be checked from the listings. Choose on tank length, mount, timer steps and water rating, and read the grow wording as product copy.

Does IP68 mean I can leave the light fully underwater?

The NEOAQLUX, SEVENCONST and iKefe listings state IP68, and their bullets describe full submersion. The UF/IFAS and CPSC pages we opened do not address aquarium light ratings. The CPSC guidance says that if an electrical product falls into the water, you should unplug it before touching it. Check the cord and adapter position before the light goes in, and confirm the rating wording on the listing you buy.

How many hours a week does a 10 hour timer run?

10 times 7 is 70 hours a week. Four of the five lights name the 10 hour step, and the iKefe gives no hour steps at all. Use daily hours times 7 for any step a listing names, and the weekly total follows.

Which light fits a 15 inch tank?

Two lights list a 12 to 18 inch fit, the NEOAQLUX and the SEVENCONST 12 to 18 inch models, and a 15 inch tank falls inside that range. Check the brackets before you buy, because the two SEVENCONST listings disagree on mounting and the NEOAQLUX specifications say Bracket Mount.

Is the 24/7 mode a substitute for a timer?

Not on the evidence in these listings. The 24/7 default describes a sunrise to night cycle, but no listing gives the bright-hour count inside it. The timer steps are the figures you can count, so set the timer when you need a stated weekly total.

What should I check on a listing before I buy?

Check the tank length against the fit in the title, then compare the mounting type in the specifications with the bracket wording in the bullets, since they disagree on two of these listings. Confirm the model number with the seller, and look for a stated submersion rating before the light goes under water. A timer step or a remote is worth having only if the listing names it.

Bottom line

Choose by tank length and mount first, then pick the timer you will keep. Check the water wording in the listing before anything goes under water, and set the outlet and the cord before you hang the light. The grow claims stay unverified until a measured output for plants is published.

Sources

  • UF/IFAS, Freshwater Ornamental Aquatic Plant Production in Florida (FA251), opened 2026-10-20: https://ask.ifas.ufl.edu/publication/FA251
  • UF/IFAS, Predaceous Diving Beetles as Pets and the Self-Cleaning Aquarium (FR398), opened 2026-10-20: https://ask.ifas.ufl.edu/publication/FR398
  • UF/IFAS, The Ornamental Fish Trade (FA124), opened 2026-10-20: https://ask.ifas.ufl.edu/publication/FA124
  • UF/IFAS, 4-H Marine Aquarium Project Book (4H433), opened 2026-10-20: https://ask.ifas.ufl.edu/publication/4H433
  • U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, Ways to Protect Yourself and Others From Shock or Electrocution (pool and spa guidance), opened 2026-10-20: https://cpsc.gov/s3fs-public/WaysToProtectYourselfAndOthersFromShockOrElectrocutionuUpdated07312019.pdf

Bài viết liên quan: Best Lights for Planted Freshwater Nano Tanks: Five Listed Options Compared, Best Salinity Tester for Aquarium: Five Listed Options Compared, Best Aquarium Filter by Tank Size: Nine Listed Options Compared.

Similar Posts