Fishkeeper Aquarium Range: 9 Listings for Lights, Pumps, a Stand and a Feeder
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
The fishkeeper aquarium range in this roundup has nine listings: three lights, four air pumps, a two-tier stand and an automatic feeder with a camera. A person typing “fishkeeper aquarium” usually wants to know which fishkeeper item fits the tank they have, and whether the listings agree on the figures that matter. This guide sorts the nine listings by job, works out the battery and flow arithmetic, and shows where two listings with the same title say different things. Where a title and the bullets differ, the text follows the bullets and says so.
Quick answer
- Use the tank band in the bullets to choose a light or a pump, then check the same figure in the specification field. The two do not always match.
- The two battery pumps are listed for up to 125 gallons and up to 60 gallons. On the 4 watt model, intermittent mode runs about 1.9 times longer than continuous mode, by the bullets’ own numbers.
- Two pumps share the title “Quiet Aquarium Air Pump, 3W 5W Dual Outlet, Adjustable Bubbler.” Their bullets describe different products: one is a 3 watt single outlet that the bullets say cannot be adjusted, and the other is a 5 watt two-outlet pump with an adjustable airflow control.
- The 48 watt light lists an IP65 rating in its bullets. The listing does not say it can be submerged, so keep its cord and power block out of the water.
Nine listings, four jobs
The nine listings sort into four groups. Three are lights, four are air pumps, one is a stand, and one is a feeder. Table 1 sets the groups out using only what each listing states.
| Group | Listings | What the listing is built for |
|---|---|---|
| Clip-on lights | 3 | Planted or display tanks, with timers, color modes and a gooseneck or holder |
| Air pumps | 4 | Aeration, with two battery models and two corded models, and one or two outlets |
| Stand | 1 | A two-tier stand with a 36 by 20 inch footprint and a 720 pound load capacity |
| Feeder | 1 | An automatic feeder with a 230 milliliter hopper, an app and a camera |
The table is not a ranking. Each group is covered below, and no group is better because it appears first.
Battery pumps: runtime by the numbers
Two of the four air pumps run on a battery. The 4 watt model’s bullets list 16 to 30 hours in continuous mode and 31 to 58 hours in intermittent mode. The 2 watt rechargeable model lists 40 to 45 hours in continuous mode and 70 to 80 hours in intermittent mode. Table 2 turns those figures into a ratio.
| Pump | Continuous mode, per bullets | Intermittent mode, per bullets | Intermittent to continuous ratio |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4 watt battery pump | 16 to 30 hours | 31 to 58 hours | 31 ÷ 16 = 1.94 at the low end; 58 ÷ 30 = 1.93 at the high end |
| 2 watt rechargeable pump | 40 to 45 hours | 70 to 80 hours | 70 ÷ 40 = 1.75 at the low end; 80 ÷ 45 = 1.78 at the high end |
Intermittent mode runs about 1.9 times as long on the 4 watt model and about 1.75 to 1.8 times as long on the 2 watt model, by the listings’ own numbers. The bullets give the battery as 2600 mAh on the 4 watt model and 2200 mAh on the 2 watt model. They give no load, water depth or temperature for any of the runtimes, so the figures are the maker’s and cannot be checked against the listing.
The two battery models disagree on power source. The 4 watt model’s specification says “Battery Powered,” but its bullets describe automatic switching between AC and DC power. The 2 watt model’s specification says “Corded Electric,” while its title and bullets describe a rechargeable battery. Confirm how each one runs before you rely on it during a power cut.
Both battery pumps carry an “IP64 Waterproof” line in their bullets. The listing does not explain what the IP64 rating covers. An air pump normally sits above the water line, so the rating does not change the placement rule. The CPSC guidance on electrical products says to keep them “out of reach and at least 5 feet from the water.”
The 4 watt model’s pressure is another point to check. Its bullets give 0.02 MPa, and its specification gives 0.29 psi. Those are not the same figure. Using 145 psi per MPa, 0.02 MPa is 0.02 × 145 = 2.9 psi, so the specification value is about a tenth of the bullet value. The listing does not say which one is right.
Flow per gallon, and the pump that shares a title
The same rule applies here as for the other brands in this roundup. A pump’s rated flow divided by the largest tank the listing names gives gallons per hour per gallon (GPH per gallon). The figure compares pumps with one another. It is not a target, and the UF/IFAS setup guide names an air pump as a standard component without giving any flow rate. Table 3 uses the bullet figure wherever the bullets give one.
| Pump (per title) | Power, per specification | Flow in the bullets | Largest tank the listing names | Flow per gallon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 watt battery pump | Battery Powered | 80 GPH | 125 gallons | 80 ÷ 125 = 0.64 |
| 2 watt rechargeable pump | Corded Electric | 30 GPH (113 liters per hour in the specification) | 60 gallons | 30 ÷ 60 = 0.5 |
| 3 watt, single outlet | Corded Electric | 50 GPH | 50 gallons (bullets); 160 gallons (highlight) | 50 ÷ 50 = 1; 50 ÷ 160 = 0.31 |
| 5 watt, two outlets | Corded Electric | 95 GPH | 160 gallons | 95 ÷ 160 = 0.59 |
The two quiet pumps in the last two rows share a title. Their bullets and specifications differ, so the table keeps them apart. The 3 watt model’s bullets say “50 GPH/3L/min” and give a limit of 50 gallons, while its highlight says “for 1-160 Gallon.” The 5 watt model’s bullets say “95GPH(7L/min)” and give 160 gallons.
The 5 watt model has an internal conflict that the arithmetic exposes. Seven liters per minute is 7 × 60 = 420 liters per hour, and 420 ÷ 3.785 = 111 GPH on the same conversion this article uses for the other brands. The bullet states 95 GPH beside the same 7 liters per minute. Either the flow or the liter figure is wrong, and the listing does not say which.
The 2 watt rechargeable pump is consistent on this point. Its specification gives 113 liters per hour, and 113 ÷ 3.785 = 29.9 GPH, which is close to the 30 GPH in its bullets. The two figures agree within a fraction of a gallon.
The 3 watt pump has a further conflict. Its specification gives 50 gpm, which would be 50 × 60 = 3000 GPH, far above the 50 GPH in its bullets. The bullets read 50 GPH and 3 liters per minute, and those two agree closely enough. Read the specification’s “gpm” as a labeling error, and use the bullet figures.
The bullets for the 3 watt pump also say its airflow “cannot be adjusted,” while its title promises an “Adjustable Bubbler.” The 5 watt model’s bullets say it has an “adjustable airflow control.” The two pumps share the model number FK100 in their specifications. Match the pump to its bullets, not the title.
For a betta, the UF/IFAS betta guide, FA212, is the source to read first: “Bettas prefer calm water as shown by research using flow as a stressor, so heavy filtration may actually be harmful to a betta’s health and welfare.” A fixed-flow pump, like the 3 watt model, leaves no dial to set. An adjustable model lets you set the flow low. For other battery models on this site, see the best battery operated air pump for fish guide.
Lights: bands, wattage and the waterproof question
Three clip-on lights make up the light group. Table 4 lists each one’s wattage in the specification, its tank band or lift in the bullets, and its water rating.
| Light (wattage in the specification) | Wattage | Tank band or lift in the bullets | Water rating |
|---|---|---|---|
| 9 watt clip-on | 9 watts | Suitable tank length of 7.87 to 12.99 inches | None stated in the bullets or specification |
| 18 watt clip-on with lamp holder | 18 watts | Holder lifts the light up to 12.7 inches; no tank length | Specification says waterproof; bullets give no rating |
| 48 watt clip-on with two holders | 48 watts | Two holders lift the light up to 12.7 inches; no tank length | Bullets give IP65; specification says waterproof |
The 9 watt light is the only one with a tank length in the bullets. Its band of 7.87 to 12.99 inches means a tank of about 8 to 13 inches. The 9 watt bullets also give a 2.2 meter cord, which is 7.2 feet, and eight color options with three timer settings of 8, 12 and 14 hours. The default mode turns the light on at 8 a.m. and off at 11 p.m.
The 18 and 48 watt lights share most of their bullet text. Both claim “over 57% higher brightness than many other standard clip-on fish tank lights,” and both describe nine colors, 1 to 100 percent dimming, a 24/7 cycle and an LCD controller. Neither gives a tank length. The holders lift the light, which is the bullets’ figure for reach.
Among the lights, only the 48 watt model gives an explicit rating: “Waterproof rating: IP65.” Its specification says “Is Waterproof: true” and “Water Resistance Level: Waterproof.” The 18 watt light’s specification also says waterproof, but its bullets give no rating at all. Those are two different statements of the same property, and the listings do not explain what the rating covers.
The bullets for the 48 watt light describe a CR1220 battery that “saves your time and settings even during power outages.” That battery keeps the settings, not the light. The light itself still needs mains power. The UF/IFAS guide on ornamental fish trade says “Proper lighting is essential for the health of all animals, plant life, and also for aesthetic reasons.” That supports lighting as a category. It does not show that one fishkeeper wattage grows plants better than another.
For plant lighting on this site, see the best light spectrum for aquarium plants guide.
The two-tier stand
The stand’s title gives 36 by 20 inches and a 50 gallon tank, and its bullets match the title. The top shelf is 36.2 by 19.7 inches and “securely holds your main 40-50 gallon aquarium.” The lower tier is 29 by 33 inches, and the bullets say it fits “a second 1-50 gallon tank” or supplies. The specification gives the overall size as 36.2 by 19.7 by 29.1 inches, a load capacity of 720 pounds, two levels and an item weight of 17.15 kg.
The materials do not match. The bullets describe “industrial-grade high-strength stainless steel” and “X-braces” for the frame, and they also describe “premium high-density fiberboard with a stylish black forest peach wood grain finish.” The specification lists “Stainless Steel” only. The two statements can both be true, since a frame and a shelf can use different materials, but the specification leaves out the fiberboard. Check the top material before you buy.
The bullets say the stand comes “with power outlet and without power outlet versions.” The specification does not say which version the listing is for. If you need outlets on the stand, confirm the version before you order. Any corded device on a stand with outlets follows the same CPSC placement rule as a device on the tank.
The automatic feeder and what it does not state
The feeder group has one listing. Its specification gives a capacity of 0.23 liters, a 2 year warranty, and connectivity through Bluetooth, USB and WiFi. Its bullets describe a 2.5K camera with night vision, a WiFi network of 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz, two dispensing rotors, and portions set in one gram steps up to 20 grams. The small-port rotor gives 0.2 gram per serving, and the large-port rotor gives 0.6 gram.
The bullets say the portion control is “helping prevent water quality issues from overfeeding.” The UF/IFAS guide on ornamental fish trade gives the principle behind that claim: “The feed must be supplied judiciously to prevent obesity and to avoid water quality deterioration by promoting excess ammonia.” It also says “Animals in the aquarium must also have a supply of nutritious foods.” The feeder can control portions. It cannot decide how much a fish should eat, so the portion setting still needs a judgment about the tank.
Two things about the feeder are not in the listing. The specification does not give a power source, and the bullets do not say whether it runs on mains power, a battery or USB. It also gives Bluetooth in its connectivity field, but the bullets describe only the WiFi app. Check both before you buy.
Waterproof claims and cords around water
Three of the nine listings give a water rating: the battery pumps’ IP64 line and the 48 watt light’s IP65 line. The 18 watt light’s specification gives waterproof with no rating. None of these claims says that the item can be submerged, and the listings do not say that any of these items can be.
The CPSC shock guidance is written for pools and spas, but its plain line applies to these products around a tank: “Keep electrical cords, wires, and products out of reach and at least 5 feet from the water.” It also says: “If an electrical product falls into the water, unplug it before touching it.” Place the pumps and the feeder above the water line. Keep the light’s cord and holder dry. Unplug any corded item before you reach into the tank.
How we chose
This roundup covers every fishkeeper listing in the research record, which holds nine. We did not select a subset. Each listing was read through its title, its bullets and its specification fields. The listings were grouped by use and compared on the tank bands, flow figures, runtimes and water ratings each one states. No price, rating or sales figure was used, because the record holds none. The picks follow the groups and are not a ranking. Each pick names a skip condition drawn from its own listing, and each carries a limitation from the same listing.
What we could not verify
- The battery pumps’ runtimes come with no load, water depth or temperature. They are the maker’s figures.
- The 4 watt battery pump’s pressure is 0.02 MPa in the bullets and 0.29 psi in the specification. The two differ by about a factor of ten after conversion.
- The 4 watt battery pump’s bullets describe AC and DC switching, while its specification says battery powered.
- The 2 watt rechargeable pump’s specification says corded electric, while its title and bullets describe a battery.
- The 5 watt pump’s bullets give 95 GPH beside 7 liters per minute, which converts to about 111 GPH.
- The 3 watt pump’s specification gives 50 gpm, which does not match its bullets.
- The two quiet pumps share a title and a model number, but their bullets describe different products.
- The 9 watt light’s bullets count 24 LED beads, while its specification counts one light source.
- The 18 and 48 watt lights give no tank length. Their holders lift the light, but the bullets do not give a tank band.
- The 48 watt light’s IP65 rating is the bullets’ claim, and the listing does not say the light can be submerged.
- The 18 watt light’s specification says waterproof, but its bullets give no rating.
- The stand’s bullets describe a fiberboard top, and its specification lists stainless steel only.
- The feeder’s power source is not stated in either the specification or the bullets.
- The sources we opened cover betta care, filtration, lighting, feeding and electrical safety in general. They do not cover fishkeeper’s products, its runtimes or its waterproof ratings.
1. fishkeeper Clip On Aquarium Light, 24/7 Mode Fish Tank Light with Timer (9 watt clip-on light, about 8 to 13 inch tanks)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Wattage: 9 watts
- Mounting Type: Clip On
- Manufacturer Warranty Description: Offers a 2-year warranty.
Pros
- Bullets give a tank band of 7.87 to 12.99 inches and a 2.2 meter cord
- Three timer settings of 8, 12 and 14 hours and eight colors, per the bullets
- Power off memory and a 7 inch gooseneck, both named in the bullets
Cons
- The bullets count 24 LED beads, while the specification counts one light source
- No waterproof rating appears in the bullets or the specification
Best for: A clip-on light for a tank about 8 to 13 inches long.
Skip if: Your tank is longer than 13 inches, or you need a waterproof rating.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
2. fishkeeper Battery Powered Aquarium Air Pump, USB Rechargeable Aerator Fish Tank Air Pump for 5-125 (4 watt battery pump, up to 125 gallons)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Battery Type: Lithium
- Horsepower: 4 watts
- Power Source: Battery Powered
Pros
- Bullets list a 2600 mAh lithium battery with AC and DC switching
- Four flow levels set by a button, per the bullets
- Bullets give 16 to 30 hours continuous and 31 to 58 hours intermittent
Cons
- Specification gives 0.29 psi, about a tenth of the 0.02 MPa in the bullets
- Specification says battery powered only, while the bullets describe AC and DC switching
Best for: A tank of up to 125 gallons that needs a backup pump for power cuts.
Skip if: You need one pressure figure you can rely on, since the two fields disagree.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
3. fishkeeper Rechargeable Aquarium Air Pump, Up to 60 Gallons Fish Tank (2 watt rechargeable pump, up to 60 gallons)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Air Flow Capacity: 113 liters per hour
- Power Source: Corded Electric
- Battery Type: Lithium
Pros
- Bullets give 30 GPH, four flow levels and a 2200 mAh battery
- Bullets give 40 to 45 hours continuous and 70 to 80 hours intermittent
- Specification gives 113 liters per hour, which converts to about 30 GPH
Cons
- Specification says corded electric, while the title and bullets describe a rechargeable battery
- Bullets give a band of 0 to 60 gallons, which starts at zero
Best for: A tank of up to 60 gallons that needs a light-duty backup pump.
Skip if: Your tank is above 60 gallons, or you need the power source confirmed as battery only.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
4. fishkeeper Heavy Duty Metal 50 Gal Aquarium Stand, 36" Lx20 Wx29 H, 720LBS (Two-tier stand, 720 pound load, 40 to 50 gallon top)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Load Capacity: 7.2E+2 pounds
- Number of Levels: 2
- Material: Stainless Steel
Pros
- Top shelf 36.2 by 19.7 inches for a 40 to 50 gallon tank, per the bullets
- 720 pound load capacity in both the bullets and the specification
- Available with or without a power outlet, per the bullets
Cons
- Bullets describe a fiberboard top and a stainless frame, while the specification lists stainless steel only
- Specification gives an item weight of 17.15 kg
Best for: A 40 to 50 gallon tank that needs a stand with a lower shelf for supplies.
Skip if: Your tank is above 50 gallons, or you need the top material stated before you buy.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
5. fishkeeper Clip-on Planted Aquarium Light, 6 Row LED, 48W, Dual Light Riser (48 watt clip-on light with two holders)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Wattage: 48 watts
- Water Resistance Level: Waterproof
- Voltage: 110 volts_of_alternating_current
Pros
- Bullets claim over 57% higher brightness than many standard clip-on lights
- LCD controller, with a CR1220 battery that keeps the settings, per the bullets
- Two holders lift the light up to 12.7 inches, per the bullets
Cons
- Specification says waterproof, while the bullets give IP65, and the listing does not say the light can be submerged
- The 57 percent brightness claim comes with no measurement method
Best for: A larger planted tank that needs a bright light lifted above the water.
Skip if: You need a light the listing says can go under water, or a measured brightness figure.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
6. fishkeeper Quiet Aquarium Air Pump, 3W 5W Dual Outlet, Adjustable Bubbler (3 watt quiet pump, single outlet with Y-connector)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Air Flow Capacity: 50 gpm
- Maximum Pressure: 25 kilopascal
- Wattage: 3
Pros
- Bullets give 50 GPH, 3 liters per minute and 25 kPa for tanks up to 50 gallons
- Bullets give a maximum noise of 35 dB
- Y-connector and air stone kit in the box, per the bullets
Cons
- Title says dual outlet and adjustable bubbler, but the bullets say single outlet and no airflow adjustment
- Specification lists air flow as 50 gpm, which does not match the bullets
Best for: A tank of up to 50 gallons that needs a quiet, fixed-flow pump with a splitter.
Skip if: You need an adjustable pump, or a 160 gallon rating.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
7. fishkeeper Clip on Aquarium Light for Plants, 6 Row LED Brightness, 18W (18 watt clip-on light with lamp holder)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Wattage: 18 watts
- Is Waterproof: True
- Manufacturer Warranty Description: 2 years warranty.
Pros
- Nine colors, 1 to 100 percent dimming and a 24/7 cycle, per the bullets
- Lamp holder lifts the light up to 12.7 inches
- Specification gives a 2 year warranty
Cons
- Specification says waterproof, while the bullets give no rating
- Bullets give no tank band, only the holder's lift
Best for: A planted tank that needs a clip-on light with an adjustable holder at 18 watts.
Skip if: You need a rating in the bullets before you buy, or your tank needs the 48 watt output.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
8. fishkeeper Quiet Aquarium Air Pump, 3W 5W Dual Outlet, Adjustable Bubbler (5 watt quiet pump, two outlets, up to 160 gallons)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Air Flow Capacity: 7 liters per minute
- Maximum Pressure: 40 kilopascal
- Wattage: 5
Pros
- Two independent outlets with an adjustable airflow control, per the bullets
- Bullets give 40 kPa maximum pressure and a 35 dB maximum noise
Cons
- Bullets say 95 GPH at 7 liters per minute, but 7 liters per minute converts to about 111 GPH
- Shares its title and model number FK100 with the 3 watt single-outlet pump
Best for: A tank of up to 160 gallons, or two small tanks from one pump, once the flow figure is confirmed.
Skip if: You need a single outlet, or the flow must match 7 liters per minute exactly.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
9. fishkeeper Automatic Fish Feeder for Aquarium Flakes, WiFi (2.4G/5.0G) (WiFi automatic feeder with camera, 230 ml)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Capacity: 0.23 liters
- Connectivity Technology: Bluetooth, USB, WiFi
- Warranty Description: 2 year
Pros
- Bullets describe 0.2 gram and 0.6 gram servings, one for each rotor
- Portions set in 1 gram steps up to 20 grams, per the bullets
- Specification gives a 0.23 liter capacity and a 2 year warranty
Cons
- Power source is not stated in the specification or the bullets
- Bluetooth appears in the specification, but the bullets describe only the WiFi app
Best for: A keeper who wants app-controlled feeding and a camera on a tank with an open rim or a feeding hatch.
Skip if: You need the power source stated before buying, or you do not want a camera in the room.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
FAQ
Which fishkeeper pump runs longest during a power cut?
By the bullets, the 4 watt battery pump runs 16 to 30 hours in continuous mode and 31 to 58 hours in intermittent mode. The 2 watt rechargeable pump runs 40 to 45 hours continuous and 70 to 80 hours intermittent. The 2 watt model’s runtimes are longer in continuous mode, but its band is 60 gallons against 125. Choose by tank size first.
Is the 48 watt light waterproof enough to sit in the water?
The bullets give IP65, and the specification says waterproof. Neither says the light can be submerged. Keep the cord, the power block and the holder out of the water, which is the CPSC rule for electrical products near water.
Which of the two identical pump titles should I buy?
Look at the bullets, not the title. The 3 watt model is a single outlet rated at 50 gallons with no airflow adjustment. The 5 watt model has two outlets and an adjustable airflow control, rated at 160 gallons. Both share the model number FK100, so check the outlets and the bullet figures before ordering.
Does the feeder fit a tank with a lid hatch?
The bullets say it can clip to the rim of an open tank or sit on the lid of a tank with a feeding hatch. It has a 230 milliliter capacity. The listing does not give the power source, so confirm how it runs before you place it on a tank.
Which fishkeeper light fits a 12 inch tank?
The 9 watt light’s band of 7.87 to 12.99 inches covers a 12 inch tank. The 18 and 48 watt lights give no tank length, so measure the tank and check the holder’s reach before buying either one.
Bottom line
Check the tank band in the bullets, then confirm the power and the pressure in the specification. Where two fishkeeper listings share a title, decide on the bullets and the model’s outlets, not the name.
Sources
- UF/IFAS, Evolution, Culture, and Care for Betta splendens (FA212): https://ask.ifas.ufl.edu/publication/FA212
- UF/IFAS, Ammonia in Aquatic Systems (FA031): https://ask.ifas.ufl.edu/publication/FA031
- UF/IFAS, The Ornamental Fish Trade: An Introduction with Perspectives for Responsible Aquarium Fish Ownership (FA124): https://ask.ifas.ufl.edu/publication/FA124
- UF/IFAS, Aquarium Setup and Maintenance (VM144), archival EDIS PDF copy: https://journals.flvc.org/edis/article/download/109188/104367/152407
- U.S. CPSC, Ways to Protect Yourself and Others From Shock or Electrocution (PDF): https://cpsc.gov/s3fs-public/WaysToProtectYourselfAndOthersFromShockOrElectrocutionuUpdated07312019.pdf